BMC Atrium Discovery Community Forum

This forum is now closed. Please check sticky posts and announcements for further information.

Links to new community:

forgot password?
   
1 of 3
1
Integation error for oracle during snapshot discovery.
Posted: 29 March 2011 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]  
RankRankRank
Contributor
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2011-01-18

Hi All,

I am getting integration error when i am trying to discover oracle database.
Please find the attachment.

thanks in advance
shirish

Image Attachments
integration.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2011 04:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Guru
Total Posts:  2740
Joined:  2008-01-25

I think this is related to your other thread here so let’s deal with it in one thread.

This is not an error as such, ADDM is telling you that it can’t get an SQL connection to Oracle following on from OS level discovery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2011 04:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
RankRankRank
Contributor
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2011-01-18

Hi Charles,

If it is not error then does it mean oracle deep discovery is done successfully?

thanks
shirish

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2011 05:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Guru
Total Posts:  2740
Joined:  2008-01-25

It is not an error as it is not a fault.

ADDM cannot find the right database credential to use.

With no database credential to use deep discovery cannot succeed.

The online training module on Database Credentials under the Further Discovery tab has some advice on troubleshooting.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 05:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
RankRankRank
Contributor
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2011-01-18

Hi Charles,

But when i am trying credential test for oracle i am successful.

thanks

shirish

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 06:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
BMC ADDM Staff
RankRankRankRank
Administrator
Total Posts:  2089
Joined:  2008-02-12

Then you have set up your Oracle credential so that it does not match the information found in the Oracle SI.

Does the Oracle SI contain the port? If not you need to specify a default port on the credential.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 07:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
RankRankRank
Contributor
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2011-01-18

Hi Charles,

Please find the screen shot.Please let me know if i need to configure more.

thanks
shirish

Image Attachments
db-patterns.jpgdb-credentials.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 07:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
BMC ADDM Staff
RankRankRankRank
Administrator
Total Posts:  2089
Joined:  2008-02-12

You are requiring that ADDM finds the SID ‘REM75’ and port ‘1521’. Does it find these? You need to look as the Oracle SI. If not you need to provide default values.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 08:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
RankRankRank
Contributor
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2011-01-18

Hi Charles,

Can you please tell me where to check and where to set oracle SI values.

thanks
shirish

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
BMC ADDM Staff
RankRankRankRank
Administrator
Total Posts:  2089
Joined:  2008-02-12

You don’t set the values on the SI. There should be an Oracle SI on the host you are trying to discover. Look at the values set on that SI.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 09:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
RankRankRank
Contributor
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2011-01-18

Hi Andrew,

Please find the attachment. Is this the same you are talking about.

thanks

shirish

Image Attachments
oracleSI.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 10:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
BMC ADDM Staff
RankRankRankRank
Administrator
Total Posts:  2089
Joined:  2008-02-12

Yes.

This show you why it is not using the credential.

The SID found is rem75 whilst you have specified REM75 in the credential.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 10:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
RankRankRank
Contributor
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2011-01-18

Hi Andrew,

In the credential tab, I have used REM75 as Service name because i h ave selected oracle service name as driver.

thanks
shirish

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 10:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Guru
Total Posts:  2740
Joined:  2008-01-25

Try (?i)rem75 – that should make the regex match case insensitive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 10:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]  
RankRankRank
Contributor
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2011-01-18

Hi Charles,

Tried but still same error.

thanks
shirish

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2011 10:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Guru
Total Posts:  2740
Joined:  2008-01-25

What IP is the host of that Oracle SI being discovered on?

Is it 192.168.4.161 from your first screen shot?

In which case you have 192.168.0.161 defined in your credential, those will not match.

[ Edited: 31 March 2011 11:18 AM by Charles Oldham]
Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1